top of page

Costumes: Creating a World

Despite transitioning my career into fashion, I originally came from the world of costumes. It has been a passion of mine after having obtained a B.A. from the University of New Hampshire with a major in theatre. And, off and of I continued designing for stage, film, commercials and print, and even cosplay costumes for private clients.

Costume plates by Liz Schmidt, Remain Calm web series


I have also produced stage and film. These kinds of passion projects meant often times we were wearing different hats. So, part of my contributions was through graphic design. Hence, as a bonus to showing off my costume designs below, you will get to see some of photoshopping skills.





My first job out here was at a costume rental house and I loved getting to work with period costumes and really digging into their construction. Alterations were a fun exercise in problem solving and thinking three dimensionally, nipping and tucking or opening at seams. We also had extensive costume racks and prop boxes to dig through and keep organized, and I was familiar with every piece there.


Post card by Liz Schmidt, Dungeon Master improv show.


Around that time, I found a stage show that became a passion project. For twelve years, I designed and produced Dungeon Master which was a fantasy long-form improv show. And, we succeeded in gaining a cult following. Designing for a fantasy would gave us the opportunity to get really creative meshing different eras, genres and cultures depending on where the story and its characters lived that week. Always, there was an element of comedy, kitsch and fun. We performed on stages in Los Angeles and at gaming and science fiction conventions.


Dungeon Master spawned a fantasy web-series, Legends of Atoll. For that project I was an executive producer, the costume designer and even an actress. Elizabeth DeWet was my stage name back in the day. We had armor rentals donated, and it was an amazing opportunity to work with really special pieces.


Under the umbrella of Lizzie-Dee Designs, DBA, I had my own shop and created other cool illustrations and costume pieces for commercials, and private clients. Freelance fashion designs and a t-shirt company were also produced out of my design studio.


The costume plates below were made for a presentation to AARP's ad agency. These are senior superheroes and we custom built from shop every piece for a commercial and print campaign. I wish I had taken pictures while on set. Unfortunately I was very busy dressing the talent and making the pieces look great on camera. I had thought I would get some amazing portfolio photos from the print campaign. But, they never went live and I suspect AARP decided these costumes were too sexy. At least I got some really good illustrations and I am still very proud of this project.


Another project that came out really well was for a Malifaux Games' digital campaign. I became really adept with my airbrush to distress accessories for beautifully distressed looks.



Cosplay costuming was another part of Lizzie-Dee Design's business. Often it meant thinking outside of the box, creative problem solving and high quality construction. These pieces shined at Comi-Con, Gallifrey One, and Labyrinth of Jareth Masquerade.



I think costume design, especially for fantasy and science fiction gives an amazing opportunity to not only be innovative, but also collaborative with directors, producers and talent. Whether it's stage, film or television, it takes a team with shared purpose of working together and creating not only the world and mood of the project but also something to be proud of. Costuming really get into the mood and world these characters live in the garments they might choose to wear.




Comments


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page